The Rev. Amy Current is elected Bishop of the Southeastern Iowa Synod ELCA


West Des Moines, Iowa (August 7, 2020) – The Rev. Amy Current was elected on the fifth ballot, with 178 votes. The Rev. Erika Uthe received 173 votes.


The bishop-elect Amy Current is currently serving as Vice President of Admissions and Student Services at Wartburg Seminary.  She graduated from Concordia College, Moorhead, MN, and received an M. Div from Wartburg Theological Seminary, Dubuque, IA and was ordained on July 13, 1997.

Bishop-Elect Current will succeed Bishop Michael Burk, who has served as bishop since 2008 and is retiring.


Voting members of the Southeastern Iowa Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA) have gathered online, August 5th and 7th, for their annual Synod Assembly. Members from ELCA congregations across the area are gathered under the theme “With a New Song.”


More information about the synod assembly, including videos, election results, and other information can be found online at

© 2022 Church Theme
Made with love at Cyber Innovation - Iowa Web Design Agency
Follow us: