The 27th Assembly of the Southeastern Iowa Synod was held May 3o – June 1, 2014, at Marriott Hotel and Convention Center, Coralville, Iowa.  Over 500 voting members and guests gathered around the theme “Led by the Spirit”.

Presiding Bishop Elizabeth Eaton served as the churchwide representative providing updates and stories of the work we do together as the ELCA and overseeing the bishop’s election. Presiding Bishop Eaton also presided over closing service of Holy Communion on Sunday, June 1.

The primary business of this year’s assembly was the bishop’s election. Rev. Michael Burk was re-elected May 31, to a second six-year term as bishop of the Southeastern Iowa Synod on the fourth ecclesiastical ballot. There were 380 votes cast with 228 votes needed for election. Bishop Burk was re-elected with 254 votes to 75 votes for the Rev. Virginia Anderson-Larson, and 51 votes for the Rev. Kathy Gerking. 

Bishop Michael Burk presided over the assembly, including the opening service of Holy Communion. In his report, Bishop Burk provided highlights of our shared ministry since we last gathered in assembly, providing his assessment of the ways we are indeed being “Led by the Spirit”.

Marita Rouse, Fjeldberg Lutheran Church, Huxley, Amy Wenzel, Grace Lutheran Church, Davenport, Pr. Maureen Howard, Immanuel Lutheran Church, Washington, Jon Fry, Grace Lutheran Church, Des Moines, Christopher Scott, First Lutheran Church, Keokuk, Allyia Christine Ruther, Messiah Lutheran Church, Burlington were elected to positions on the synod council.

Alan Feirer, St. Paul Lutheran Church, Winterset, Pr. Joel Nau, St. Paul Lutheran Church, Winterset were elected to positions on the consultation committee. Brian Middleswarth, St. Stephen’s Lutheran Church, Cedar Rapids, Karen Landahl, Zion Lutheran Church, Muscatine, Pr. Lisa Parker, Resurrection Lutheran Church, Ankeny, Pr. Chad Whaley, Bethany Lutheran Church, West Branch were elected to positions on the discipline committee.

On Saturday evening a banquet and Rachel Kurtz concert was held at the Marriott. A hospitality time followed, which included post-concert Drinks and Hymns with Erik Ullestad, Windsor Heights Lutheran Church, Windsor Heights and Rachel Kurtz.

Resolutions adopted included: 1)  That the third Sunday of September in 2014 and 2015 be designated as “Definitely-Abled Sunday” within the Southeastern Iowa Synod; 2) Thanking all those whose efforts contributed to this assembly. Visit the 2014 Synod Assembly website for the full text of both resolutions.

Other business included the approval of the 2015 synod budget and minimum compensation guidelines. Congregations and rostered leaders celebrating anniversaries were celebrated and voting members took advantage of the many forums and organizational displays that were offered during assembly. The synod assembly offering was designated to the Fund for Leaders and the Pare Diocese (ELCT) Guest House Project. $6,921.93 was given by congregations and individuals, and the total offering will be split evenly between the two funds.

Visit the 2014 Synod Assembly website  for more details about the assembly and to access recordings, photos, and texts, including the bishop’s report.

The 2015 Assembly of the Southeastern Iowa Synod will be held May 29-30, 2015, at Lutheran Church of Hope, West Des Moines, IA

Write a comment:


Your email address will not be published.

© 2022 Church Theme
Made with love at Cyber Innovation - Iowa Web Design Agency
Follow us: