The 25th Assembly of the Southeastern Iowa Synod was held June 1-2, 2012, at Augustana College, Rock Island, Illinois.  Over four hundred voting members and guests gathered around the theme “Christ Is with You”.

The Rev. Linda Norman, Treasurer of the ELCA, was the churchwide representative and also preached at the Saturday morning worship.  Scott Weidler, ELCA Program Director for Worship and Music, served as the assembly musician.

Bishop Michael Burk presided over the assembly and preached and presided at the Friday afternoon service of Holy Communion.  His report to the assembly was divided into three parts under the headings “Prayer”, “Witness” and “Giving”.  As a part of his report, four “new leaders” in the synod, Kara Ullestad, Tim Maybee, Jo Kinnard, and Pr. Dirk Stadtlander, shared something of their faith story with the assembly.

Heather Miller of Faith Lutheran Church, Clive, was elected the new vice-president of the synod.  Other elections were held for synod council positions as well as positions on the synod discipline and consultation committees.  Voting members to the 2013 ELCA Churchwide Assembly were also elected.

A highlight of the assembly was the launch of the ELCA Malaria Campaign for the Southeastern Iowa Synod.  Jessica Nipp from ELCA churchwide ministries, and Walter Gwenigale, Jr., chair of these efforts in Southeastern Iowa, both addressed the assembly urging participation and support.  An outdoor dessert reception Friday evening celebrated the launch of the Malaria Campaign.

Four resolutions approved by the assembly encouraged 1) 100% participation by congregations in support of the ELCA Malaria Campaign; 2) increased congregational support in the areas of education, action, and advocacy for this synod’s work in fighting hunger; 3) local attention to mission planning and growth in support of the ministry of this whole church; and 4) congregational support for ELCA seminaries.    Other business included the approval of the 2013 synod budget and minimum compensation guidelines.

Voting members and visitors also celebrated numerous anniversaries of ordinations and commissionings as well as congregational anniversaries.  They also had opportunities to participate in small group discussions and forums on various topics.

The next assembly will be May 31-June 1, 2013, at Lutheran Church of Hope in West Des Moines.  The following year the assembly will convene May 30-June 1, 2014, in the Iowa City area.

Write a comment:


Your email address will not be published.

© 2022 Church Theme
Made with love at Cyber Innovation - Iowa Web Design Agency
Follow us: