2020 Southeastern Iowa Synod Online Assembly

The 33nd Assembly of the Southeastern Iowa Synod was held on August 5th and 7th online. Nearly 400 voting members and visitors gathered virtually around the theme “With a New Song.” Videoconferencing was used for voting members and visitors were able to view a livestream of the event.

The assembly convened on Wednesday, August 5th. Business included the approval of the 2021 synod budget and the report of the nominating committee. This session also included the first (nominating ballot) for the election of a bishop. The assembly was then recessed until Friday, August 7th.

The assembly reconvened on the morning of August 7th. Sara Hegg-Dunne was elected as the new synod vice-president. Several synod council positions were elected, and elections were held for synod nominating, discipline, and consultation committees. A full report of those elections can be found on the assembly webpage.

The assembly also cast a second ballot for the election of bishop which included the names of 21 ministers of word and sacrament. After the second ballot, the top eight vote-getters addressed the assembly. These nominees were; Erika Uthe, Ken Sundet Jones, Amy Current, Dan Kuckuck, Timothy Olson, Katie Lowe-Lancaster, Jennifer Thomas, and Jayne Thompson.

A third ballot was cast and with no election, the top three candidates –Erika Uthe, Amy Current, and Timothy Olson—moved on to the fourth ballot. These three candidates had the opportunity to answer questions provided by the Bishop’s Election Committee. No election on the fourth ballot meant the top two vote-getters, Erika Uthe and Amy Current moved on the fifth ballot.

The Rev. Amy Current was elected on the fifth ballot, with 178 votes. The Rev. Erika Uthe received 173 votes. The bishop-elect Amy Current is currently serving as Vice President of Admissions and Student Services at Wartburg Seminary. She graduated from Concordia College, Moorhead, MN, and received an M. Div from Wartburg Theological Seminary, Dubuque, IA, and was ordained on July 13, 1997.

The Synod Assembly offering was designated for the ELCA’s International Women Leaders program, which provides support and empowerment to international women leaders in the life and development of church and society. Additionally, a courtesy resolution of thanksgiving for the assembly and various ministries of the Southeastern Iowa Synod is available online.

Download a Printable PDF of this summary


Wednesday: Full session

Friday: Morning Session

Friday: Afternoon Session

Ballot and Election Results

Assembly Materials

General Information and Rules

Bishop Election

The synod, the role of bishop, and the election process

VP Report and Financials 


Committee Reports

Minimum Compensation Changes