The Southeastern Iowa Synod has an active regional ministry advocating for peace and justice in Israel and Palestine. Through accompaniment, advocacy and awareness-raising, Peace Not Walls connects ELCA members to our companions and promotes dignity, full respect for human rights, healing and reconciliation. With our Palestinian Lutheran companions, we also accompany Palestinians and Israelis, Jews, Christians and Muslims working together for peace with justice. For more information visit:

 Save the Date
Peace Not Walls Special Event: Nurturing Hope in Bethlehem and the West Bank
A Day with The Rev. Dr. Mitri Raheb and Bright Stars of Bethlehem.

Friday, February 23, 2018
9:00 am – 4:00 pm
Bethesda Lutheran Church
1517 Northwestern Ave.
Ames, IA 50010

Registration Opens December 1, 2017
$25 Registration Fee includes lunch
Free-Will Offering will be received for Bright Stars of Bethlehem. The day will include keynote presentations from The Rev. Dr. Raheb, workshops and worship.

Dr. Mitri Raheb is the President of Diyar Consortium and of Dar al-Kalima University College in Bethlehem, Bright Stars of Bethlehem in the United States, as well as the president of the Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Jordan and the Holy Land. Dr. Mitri is Senior Pastor Emeritas of the Evangelical Lutheran Christmas Church in Bethlehem, Palestine.

The most widely published Palestinian theologian to date, Dr. Raheb is the author of 16 books including: I am a Palestinian ChristianBethlehem Besieged. His most recent authorship (2017) is the The Cross in Context, co-authored with Dr. Suzanne Watt Henderson. And his acclaimed, Faith in the Face of Empire was written in 2014.

In 2012 the German Media Prize, a Prize granted mainly to head of states, was awarded to Dr. Raheb for his “tireless work in creating room for hope for his people, who are living under Israeli Occupation, through founding and building institutions of excellence in education, culture and health.”

Download the flyer for this event



Peace Not Walls Committee

Rev. Christine Cowan

Rev. Russ Melby

Meg Kiekhafer

Rev. Jack Mithelman

Keith Larson

Crystal Schraeder

If you’d like more information or a representative from our synod’s Peace Not Walls group to speak to your group, please contact Rev.Chris Cowan, [email protected]